Comprehensive Plan Advisory Committee Information

Interstate Commission on the Potomac River Basin

The Potomac River Basin Comprehensive Water Resources Plan‘s advisory committee, facilitated by Policy Works LLC, is comprised of diverse stakeholders representing various interests and geographic regions.

2023 Advisory Committee

Find a list of the 2023 Advisory Committee Members below as well as documents from all the meetings held in 2023. Click here to jump to information about the 2018 Advisory Committee members and meetings.

Meeting Documents

  • January: Initial Meeting (Agenda)
  • March: Water Use and Supplies (Agenda)
  • May: Water Quality (Agenda)
  • July: Ecological Health (Agenda)
  • September: Land Use and Cross Cutting Challenge Area (Agenda)
  • November: Draft Review (Agenda)
  • December: Final Report Review (Agenda)

Advisory Committee Members

Matt Gallagher DC Department of Energy and Environment
Tolessa Deksissa University of the District of Columbia
Willem Brakel American University
Mark Symborski Maryland – National Capital Park and Planning Commission
Matt Wessel MD Building Industry Association
Michael Weyand City of Gaithersburg MD
Nancy Hausrath City of Hagerstown, MD
Robert Peoples Maryland Department of the Environment
Tom Hilton WSSC Water, CO-OP
Martin Gary Potomac River Fisheries Commission
Beth Roach * Sierra Club and Nottoway Tribe
Adam McClain Adams County Conservation District, PA
Mark Guise Gettysburg Municipal Authority
Sue Weaver Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection
Will Willis Mercersburg Academy
Greg Prelewicz Fairfax Water, CO-OP Alternate
Hannah Somers Virginia Department of Environmental Quality
Mark Peterson Loudoun Water
Meredith Keppel George Washington Regional Commission
Ryan Green * Virginia Department of Environmental Quality
Frank Rodgers Cacapon Institute
Mindy Neil WV Department of Environmental Protection

*Past member of the 2023 Advisory Committee


2018 Advisory Committee Information

Meeting Documents, March 2018

Meeting Documents, November 2017
Meeting Documents, September 2017
Meeting Documents, May 2017
Meeting Documents, March 2017
Meeting Documents, December 2016
Meeting Documents, September 2016
Advisory Committee Members
Name Title and Organization
Hedrick Belin President;
Potomac Conservancy
Charles Bennett Manager of Environmental Affairs;
Knouse Foods Cooperative, Inc.
Willem Brakel Adjunct Professor of Environmental Science;
American University
Tolessa Deksissa Director,
Water Resources Research Institute,
Professional Science Masters,
and NELAP Accredited Environmental Quality Testing Laboratory;
Tom Devilbiss Director, Department of Land and Resource Management;
Carroll County, MD
Martin Gary Executive Secretary;
Potomac River Fisheries Commission
John Grace Chief,
Source Protection and Appropriations Division of the Water Supply Program,
Water Management Administration;
Maryland Department of Environment
Mark Guise Utilities Manager;
Gettysburg Municipal Authority
Nancy Hausrath Water Operations Manager;
City of Hagerstown
Tom Hilton Group Leader;
Planning Group WSSC
Sara Jordan Senior Water Supply Planner;
Adam McClain Watershed Specialist;
Adams County Conservation District
Mishelle Noble Chief, Source Water Planning and Protection;
Fairfax Water
John Odenkirk Fisheries Biologist;
Jennifer Orr Director, Compacts and Commissions Office;
Mark Peterson Executive Director of Stakeholder Relations;
Loudoun Water
Dusty Rood Environmental Committee Chair and
Board of Directors Member;
Maryland Building Industry
Donald Schwartz Director;
Bedford County, PA Planning Commission
Ed Snyder Distinguished Professor of Environmental Studies;
Shepherd University, WV
Mark Symborski Environmental Planning Coordinator;
Montgomery County, MD Planning
John Wirts DWWM Assistant Director;
WVDEP Watershed Assessment Branch