ICPRB Honors Bob Bolle in his Retirement

Resolution of Appreciation

After three decades of service to the Interstate Commission on the Potomac River Basin, Robert “Bob” Bolle is retiring as General Counsel. We would like to thank him for his wise counsel through so many years.

At the December 15, 2023 business meeting, ICPRB Commissioners voted to honor Mr. Bolle with the following Resolution of Appreciation.



Resolution of Appreciation for Service of Robert L. Bolle

Let it be known, Robert L. Bolle held a distinguished legal career, including service as an Adjunct Professor of Law at the Georgetown University Law Center and as the Attorney-Advisor in the office of Legislative Counsel at the United States Department of the Treasury.

Whereas  Mr. Bolle served as General Counsel to the Interstate Commission on the Potomac River Basin from April 1, 1992 through October 25, 2023; and

Whereas  Mr. Bolle, during his tenure, served as the Acting Executive Director in 1999; and

Whereas  Mr. Bolle brought to the Commission his skills as a knowledgeable, legal practitioner; and

Whereas  Mr. Bolle ensured the Commission stayed within proper and permissible legal boundaries; and

Whereas  Mr. Bolle instituted the parental leave allowance for the benefit of all Commission staff; and

Whereas  Mr. Bolle was an early and enthusiastic supporter of the Commission joining the Interstate Council on Water Policy where it continues to be a leading member; and

Whereas  Mr. Bolle promulgated and guided the passing of the 1996 Jennings Randolph Lake Project Compact, allowing for interstate management of Jenning Randolph Reservoir; and

Whereas  Mr. Bolle shared his passion for protecting and preserving the Potomac River and its related resources through sound legal advice, now therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that at its business meeting on December 15, 2023, the Interstate Commission on the Potomac River Basin honors and commends Robert “Bob” Bolle for his outstanding service and expresses its appreciation for his many contributions to the success of the Commission.


Michael Nardolilli, Executive Director

Susan K. Weaver, Chairperson